RSS

Crochet Meditation

29 Jul

Lion Brand Yarn posted a piece about Crochet as Meditation on their blog. It was an interesting article and gave tips about how to purposefully approach crochet as meditation.

I’ve always thought crochet was meditative. It helps me sleep. I think it tends to lower my blood pressure. If I’m all wound up about something, picking up a simple crochet (like a traditional granny square) is very calming. I revisited crochet seriously in 2010 when I had an illness that started with a 10 day hospital stay followed by a year and a half of therapy. Some of the therapy was painful but crocheting through it made it seem not so bad.

While many people talked about the aspect of the crochet enhancing focus, I like to use it to turn my focus elsewhere. I concentrate on the crochet and focus on the rhythm of the hook looping and turning and the feel of the yarn pulling through my other hand. I’m not sure I could use it to increase focus on an external source like a class or someone speaking, but I suppose everyone is different!

For knitters, I would think it could be the same thing, though I have only found knitting to increase my angst and had to run and crochet something to calm down. But that’s just me!

Do you look at crochet as a calming, meditative activity? Are there certain things you like to crochet when you want to use it in this way?

 
7 Comments

Posted by on July 29, 2013 in Random Life

 

Tags: , ,

7 responses to “Crochet Meditation

  1. Nice piece of work

    July 29, 2013 at 1:32 am

    I don’t deliberately meditate when I crochet, but I think that probably happens naturally, sometimes. Although I wouldn’t say so much “meditation” as allowing my thoughts to roam freely! Random things get connected and connected things lose touch, and that’s when some really productive thinking gets done – hahaha If I’m feeling stressed or hassled or overwhelmed, walking away from the pc and sitting in the lounge with some crochet definitely has a calming effect.

     
    • craftlyn

      July 29, 2013 at 2:03 am

      I sometimes come up with ideas during crocheting, too! Sometimes the way a portion of the pattern looks while under construction gives me an idea for something else.

       
  2. CrochetConcupiscence (@CrochetBlogger)

    July 29, 2013 at 4:01 pm

    Thanks so much for referencing the article that I wrote from @LionBrandYarns on crochet as meditation. I think you’ve made a great point that crochet can be used to help not only with inward focus but outward focus as well. When I did the research for the book I wrote, Crochet Saved My Life, I found that a lot of people dealing with ADD, anxiety, etc. use crochet in exactly this way!

     
  3. Laura

    September 3, 2013 at 3:47 pm

    Well written and thought provoking!

     

Let me know what you think!

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 153 other followers

