RSS

September. Flowers and Testing

05 Sep

September FlowerToday’s Square: September Flower
Size: 10 inch
Pattern By: Jessica Phillips
Hook: H
Yarn: RHSS in yellow, lavender, amethyst; mystery yarn in spring, olive and forest green.
Pattern from: Ravelry

Notes: I actually made this square at the first of August as a tester but could only now show it. It has some clever construction for the center flower part. I think it would be a nice square just stopping after the SC rows as well.

Usually I like doing tests, although I’m terrified I’ll miss something. I like to do a good job! This testing experience was so so. I had questions about a couple of things in the pattern but the designer never got back to me with answers. I went ahead and finished the square as I interpreted it and never heard back once I had sent the completed info. I guess it worked out ok since the pattern was released. Perhaps my expectations are too high when it comes to communication during testing? Usually when I have people test things I try to get back to them at least the same day if they have comments and questions. I implement their corrections in the pattern immediately (mainly to make sure I don’t forget!) and let them know if I’ve made the correction or if I haven’t what my reasoning was on it. Do any of you do pattern testing? What are your expectations from the designer during the testing process? Designers, what are your expectations from testers? Do you expect them to just work through the pattern and send you a list of concerns/corrections at the end or do you want them to communicate immediately?

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 5, 2013 in 2013 Crochet Squares

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 responses to “September. Flowers and Testing

  1. Nice piece of work

    September 5, 2013 at 1:26 am

    The designer never got back to you????? With questions, confirmations or THANKS??? In my book, there is only one word for that. And it’s a bit rude so I won’t write it down.

     
    • craftlyn

      September 5, 2013 at 1:48 am

      I know she has a lot going on I guess. I just worried that I was doing the whole thing wrong! :o But it looks like it’s supposed to. But then I guess you can’t go TOO wrong with a square…

       
      • Nice piece of work

        September 5, 2013 at 3:08 pm

        well, you know what, we ALL have a lot going on. Ok, I’ll shut up now. It is a lovely square, however! How do you get involved with testing? Do you get paid for it, or is it a labour of love? And how do designers find you?

         
        • craftlyn

          September 5, 2013 at 3:41 pm

          Nah, I don’t get paid. I mainly find testing opportunities on Ravelry. I belong to some groups hosted by designers and they post things that need testing. Sometimes now people ask me to test, as in this case. I guess once you start testing you sort of land on a “go to” pool or something. Sometimes I get into one that’s almost too much for me, but I guess that’s valuable, too. That way they can see how it’s going to work with an advanced beginner. I’ve tested several squares, a couple of hats and two scarves so far.

           

Let me know what you think!

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 144 other followers

