RSS

Day 11: Smooth Fox’s Starburst Coaster

11 Jan

Smooth Fox Starburst Coasters

Today’s square: Smooth Fox’s Starburst Coaster
Size: 4.75 inch
Pattern By: Donna Mason-Svara
Hook: H
Yarn: Red Heart Super Saver Real Teal, Acrylic Worsted Weight Plum
Pattern from: Ravelry

Notes: Another nice Smooth Fox pattern. I went off the path doing rounds for today but there you have it. It will be a set of six that goes into a little round holder box that I also made. I added an extra row of DC around because I like a larger coaster. Usually coasters are made of cotton, but I find acrylic works pretty well, too. It takes about 15 to 20 minutes to make a coaster, so it’s a nice quick little project. I’m thinking you could connect these up into some kind of afghan as well!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 11, 2012 in 366 in 2012, Crochet

 

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “Day 11: Smooth Fox’s Starburst Coaster

  1. Terri Neu

    January 11, 2012 at 11:20 pm

    So, how do you think these would look using a varigated sock yarn? I have 3 small frames that I’d like to do small doilies/crochet projects in and I think these will fit nicely. If I used the sock yarn and even the same size crochet hook, it would give it a lacier look. What do you think?

    I think your coasters are great! Best of luck with your challenge!
    Terri

    Like

     
  2. craftlyn

    January 11, 2012 at 11:33 pm

    I’m a big fan of variegated yarn. The only thing is I think you would have to have two contrasting colors or you would lose the starburst effect.

    Thanks for stopping by!

    Like

     
  3. Jess P

    January 12, 2012 at 9:19 am

    These look way cool. I’m a bit partial to circles in general. It’ll be cool to see the holder box they’ll fit into!

    Like

     

Let me know what you think!

 
