RSS

Day 32: Little Dahlia…again

01 Feb

Little Dahlia Crochet Square

Today’s square: Little Dahlia
Size: 5.25 inch
Pattern By: Chris Simon
Hook: H
Yarn: Red Heart Super Saver black and yellow, mystery yarn coral
Pattern from: Ravelry

Notes: It’s two for one today. I did warn you that you might be seeing a lot of this square. I’ve decided to make a throw out of these little guys, but I haven’t decided how many to make yet. And I’m not sure if I’ll even count all of them in my square count for this project.

The throw will consist of various colored flower centers with a black background. I’ve avoided working in black because I find it really hard to see in order to do the stitches. Two things make this one ok. I got one of those fancy light up crochet hooks which helps a little. Second, the last round of black on black work is BLO and it can actually be done by feel! It slows the crochet process a little, but that’s ok.

On the light up crochet hook: I’m a little on the fence about whether I like it or not. I’m a Susan Bates hook user, which means I like a pointy hook with a deep-set throat. The lighted hook has an extremely shallow throat on it, which causes me to drop stitches. Also, the light at the very tip of the hook is REALLY BRIGHT! Almost too bright. But you can certainly crochet in the dark with it if that’s something you’re prone to.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 1, 2012 in 366 in 2012, Crochet

 

Tags: , , , ,

Let me know what you think!

 
