RSS

Day 99: Bernat Mystery CAL Assembly Complete

08 Apr

Bernat 2012 Mystery CAL assembled

Today’s square: Bernat Mystery Cal
Size: 38 x 50
Pattern By: Bernat Design Studio
Hook: H
Yarn: Red Heart Super Saver Real Teal, Amethyst, Dark Orchid, Magenta and TLC Essentials Red Plum
Pattern from: Ravelry

Notes: The Bernat 2012 Mystery CAL Afghan assembled. I’m really starting to like it. I’m thinking I would like to border it in black. I would like to square it off and have a square afghan with the current shape in the middle. But I’m not exactly sure how to accomplish that.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on April 8, 2012 in Crochet

 

Tags: , ,

8 responses to “Day 99: Bernat Mystery CAL Assembly Complete

  1. twinkletoes2day

    April 8, 2012 at 3:22 pm

    Did you follow the layout they had on the CAL site? I don’t like what they did, but your’s looks really nice – different. I’m waiting to see how they border it before I put mine together πŸ™‚

    Like

     
  2. craftlyn

    April 8, 2012 at 3:31 pm

    I did follow their layout. I made some substitutes on the patterns in my motifs. I didn’t do clue six, but substituted more of clue five for those. Then I substituted a different pattern for the clue 4 blocks. I wasn’t thrilled about their layout either, to be honest. It was too asymmetrical for me. But once I got it assembled it began to grow on me. I may add some more motifs to the sides in the main color just to make it seem more balanced to me. Like you, I’m waiting to see the border before I do anything else.

    Like

     
    • twinkletoes2day

      April 9, 2012 at 7:06 am

      thank you for your help πŸ™‚

      Like

       
  3. craftynowy

    April 9, 2012 at 7:29 pm

    niiiiice!

    Like

     
  4. Alysha

    April 11, 2012 at 6:30 pm

    I’m doing the CAL too (and also blogging about it)! But I’m way behind lol. Yours looks great!

    Like

     
    • craftlyn

      April 11, 2012 at 8:59 pm

      Alysha, the colors you chose for your Mystery CAL are very pretty! I would have chosen different colors had I known what the layout was going to look like.

      Like

       
      • Alysha

        April 12, 2012 at 9:55 am

        Those were just the colours I chose before it started, I had no idea what it was going to look like! I lost my motivation on the popocorn stitch pieces, and I need to get it back and get it all done lol.

        Like

         
        • craftlyn

          April 13, 2012 at 12:54 am

          Yeah, popcorns usually bring me to a screeching halt, too. That’s why I substituted something else. πŸ˜€

          Like

           

Let me know what you think!

 
