RSS

Day 149: Star

28 May

My Diamond square

Today’s square: Star
Size: 12 inch
Pattern By: I made it up
Hook: H
Yarn: mystery yarn Rose.

Notes: I just made this up as I went along. It’s so simple I don’t know if I should bother to write out the pattern for it. I started looking for filet type patterns that were worked in the round like a granny square and there aren’t many. I guess it’s usually worked back and forth. I’m pondering some simple patterns I could come up with for “in the round” squares.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on May 28, 2012 in 366 in 2012, Crochet, Designs

 

Tags: , , , ,

10 responses to “Day 149: Star

  1. sincerelysarahandcrafted

    May 28, 2012 at 9:05 am

    I really like this one! Very unique!

    Like

     
  2. Jess P

    May 28, 2012 at 11:20 am

    I love the idea of in-the-round filet patterns! The few you’ve done so far are pretty, and I prefer working in the round to doing rows.

    Like

     
    • craftlyn

      May 28, 2012 at 11:26 am

      I totally agree about the working in rows thing. I’ve looked at some traditional filet patterns and they kind of boggle me. I have a few ideas for some patterns but I have to figure out how to note them so I can follow them. I guess graph paper is the way to go.

      Like

       
  3. Linda @ alottastitches

    June 4, 2012 at 11:58 am

    I think a blanket made of alternating #148 and #149 squares would be something to see!!

    Like

     
    • craftlyn

      June 4, 2012 at 2:06 pm

      Oh, you might be right! They would look good together.

      Like

       
  4. Mz. P'Chez

    July 11, 2012 at 11:28 am

    I love this! Nice work.

    Like

     
  5. Cindy Goodwin

    July 8, 2014 at 6:40 am

    This is such a nice square! I would definitely like to have a pattern for it if you are going to write one up.

    Like

     
  6. Valerie

    August 1, 2015 at 11:32 pm

    Would love to have the pattern for this one. been wanting to make a coverlet for our bed. This mofit is AWESOME !!!!

    Like

     
    • craftlyn

      August 2, 2015 at 12:11 am

      I never did get around to writing up a pattern for this. Maybe I will get on that now. I just winged it as I went along–you could probably work it just looking at the picture. It’s double crochet making a hole with a chain one in a staggered way. The corners are 2DC, CH2, 2DC most likely because that’s how I like to do them.

      Like

       

Let me know what you think!

 
