RSS

Book: 200 Crochet Blocks

26 Sep

200 Crochet Blocks BookI’ve added another new crochet block book to my library! You may have noticed I’ve been posting squares from “200 Crochet Blocks for Blankets, Throws, and Afghans” by Jan Eaton of the last few days. The book is put out by interweave press and was first published in 2004 so it’s been around a bit. I like to get books with blocks in them. I can just have the book with me and work on them. But there aren’t really that many books out there. I guess one could posit that there are only so many squares one can come up with!

This book is filled with a lot of nice squares. There’s a good mix of lacy and solids which I like. However, if you’re interested in only making granny style squares, which means worked in the round, then quite a few of these won’t be what you like. There is a big selection of squares that are worked in rows.

One little nitpick I have with this book is that many of the 200 squares are simply different color variations of the same square! For example, Square 189: Willow. It’s a pretty pattern, but it also counts as 190, 191, and 192. The only difference being color variations. I love seeing other color variations, but I think it’s a little misleading to have them count as a whole new block. In all, 84 of the 200 blocks are simply color variations of other blocks.

The book also includes six decorative edgings that you can make. They’re not overly frilly so they’re a valuable inclusion into the book. That makes up for six of those repeated squares!

Also included in this book are sections on various textured stitches like clusters and bobbles, joining methods and techniques. Finally, if you’re one of those people that wants to make the square with EXACTLY the colors and yarn used in the photo, there’s a list of yarns and colors used.

Despite the color scheme issue, it’s a good book to have in your arsenal of pattern books. The patterns are well written and easy to follow for the most part. And I haven’t found an error yet! I usually find one immediately. This impresses me!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 26, 2012 in Crochet, Reviews

 

Tags: , , ,

Let me know what you think!

 
