RSS

Day 344: Leinhauser Square 25

09 Dec

Jean Leinhauser Square 25Today’s square: Square 25
Size: 7 inch
Pattern By: Jean Leinhauser
Hook: H
Yarn: mystery yarn pink, teal green, peach.
Pattern from: Ravelry

Notes: Another offering from the 101 Crochet Squares book. It came out at 6 inches as written, so I added a round of DC and a round of SC to make it 7 inches. I thought the extra rounds gave it a bit more stability and shape. Also, my mind went on a tanget and I worked a CH2 in each shell in round 5 instead of the CH1 called for. I don’t mind how it looks though.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on December 9, 2012 in 366 in 2012, Crochet

 

Tags: , , , ,

8 responses to “Day 344: Leinhauser Square 25

  1. E.C.

    December 9, 2012 at 11:44 am

    Your block is amazing. You’re truly a gifted master crocheter, that’s for sure.
    I really enjoy your daily postings.. πŸ™‚

    Like

     
    • craftlyn

      December 9, 2012 at 1:38 pm

      Thanks for saying so. I’ve come a long way in my crochet over the last year and a half doing all these squares. Next year I probably won’t do a square a day, but I’ll do at least three a week with some other things thrown in!

      Like

       
      • E.C.

        December 9, 2012 at 1:43 pm

        I look forward to next years postings from you. I know they’ll be wonderful. I admire your year of post. Thanks so much for sharing your creations with us and the actual squares with folks who’ll use them. πŸ™‚

        Like

         
        • craftlyn

          December 9, 2012 at 2:10 pm

          Thanks again! I think next year in addition to the squares I might offer some things I’ve learned during my crochet journey. Sometimes something you think everyone knows is a surprise to some. I might also be sharing some larger projects like bags and things.

          Like

           
          • E.C.

            December 10, 2012 at 10:32 am

            That’s a great idea to share helpful hints and projects. You’re right about what folks know and what they don’t. Sometimes the most simplest things throw me for a loop. lol I’ve never mastered the neatness when chaining 3 and turning. My stitches never blend well. You can tell it in my ‘Crocheting dishcloths’ post if you want to visit my blog and see what I mean.

            I look forward to another year of crocheting good times with you. πŸ™‚

            Like

             
            • craftlyn

              December 10, 2012 at 11:29 am

              Crocheting good times! What a great phrase! I looked at your dishcloth and one thing I can suggest on the chain 3 thing… chain 2 instead. The purpose of the chain is to bring you to the height of your stitch, but sometimes what they ask for is too much, depending on your tension. So if I’m doing DC I usually just chain 2 and it’s MUCH neater. Also, even when I’m doing a single color block, I fasten off every couple of rows and then start in a different place to continue. It doesn’t leave that line of chains. It means you have to sort of figure out the pattern repeat from a different viewpoint but in a repetitive pattern it’s not such a big deal–on my Square Targets for example. I started on a different side in each color round.

              Like

               
              • E.C.

                December 10, 2012 at 6:10 pm

                Thanks so much. you have given me some really good and helpful advice. I’m going to try the 2 chains and also the fastening off soon. I have another cotton ball of yarn waiting to become a dishcloth. lol I plan to use the same square pattern as before.
                I really do appreciate your help. Again Thanks so very much. πŸ™‚

                Like

                 
                • craftlyn

                  December 10, 2012 at 6:43 pm

                  I’m glad you found it helpful! I hope it works out for you! πŸ˜€

                  Like

                   

Let me know what you think!

 
