RSS

Foundation Frustration

08 Jan

As I was working on my chain for the handle of the bag I’m making, it occurred to me to pass along this little tip. I found it extremely helpful when I discovered it. Working into a foundation chain can be an annoying exercise, especially if the chain is long. I always ended up with one end that seemed like it was pulled too tight. Now of course you can use a chainless foundation. They look really good, but personally it’s just about as fiddly as the chain is. My trick is to use a hook one or two sizes bigger for the foundation chain. You don’t have to worry about crocheting loosely, your chain is even because you can crochet at your normal tension, and it’s MUCH easier to work into. Since I usually use an “H” hook for most things, I use an “I” for foundation chains. Once my chain is made, I go back to my “H” and things work out just fine!

Let me know if you try it and if it works out for you!

 
10 Comments

Posted by on January 8, 2013 in Crochet, Tips

 

Tags: , , ,

10 responses to “Foundation Frustration

  1. Kathryn Rubidoux

    January 8, 2013 at 1:32 am

    That’s similar to what is recommended in knitting, going up a needle size when casting on can keep things from looking too pinched. I’ll try that with the hooks with my next project.

    Like

     
    • craftlyn

      January 8, 2013 at 1:58 am

      Interesting! I don’t know much about knitting–I just never seemed to take to it as much as I have to crochet!

      Like

       
  2. E.C.

    January 8, 2013 at 1:40 am

    This is a honey of an idea. I’m glad you shared it. I’ll definitely be giving this a try sometime. Way to go! Thanks so much. 🙂

    Like

     
  3. Carla

    January 8, 2013 at 2:15 am

    I’ve tried it with a hook one size bigger and it didn’t work, I think maybe next time I’ll trying going up 2 sizes – my work always have the problem of the first row being WAY to tight.

    Thanks for the tip!

    Like

     
    • craftlyn

      January 8, 2013 at 2:20 am

      I have had a couple people say it takes more than one size to get the effect they want. Maybe do some test chains and see what hook combo works. I used to crochet really tightly and almost couldn’t work into the foundation chain at all! I’ve gotten a lot less tense about it these days though.

      Like

       
  4. little poppits

    January 8, 2013 at 6:15 am

    great tip, I will try it out next time. x

    Like

     
  5. Hannah Ackroyd

    January 8, 2013 at 6:28 am

    Ooh great tip! I HATE crocheting into a foundation chain…with a passion -_-

    Like

     
    • craftlyn

      January 8, 2013 at 10:19 am

      I do, too. I mainly do squares these days, so when I do have to do something with a foundation chain it’s kind of annoying!

      Like

       

Let me know what you think!

 
