RSS

Little Blue Treasure Bag

19 Jan

Little blue treasure bagToday’s project: Treasure Bag
Size: 6 inches tall, 4 inches wide and deep.
Hook: H
Yarn: RHSS Shaded Dusk.

Notes: I have become oddly interested in making bags of all sorts. I guess this means I’m becoming a bag lady… This bag is very small and might make a nice little treasure bag or a gift bag. I started with five 4-inch solid granny squares. I joined them into a box shape with an SC join on the outside. This made it sit up nicely and have defined corners. Next I did four rounds of DC and a round of SC around the top of the box. Finally I made two drawstrings by making a chain with two strands held together. I threaded the drawstrings front to back so that the top closed in a pleated fashion. You can tie the strings on the front and the back, at the sides, or even on top to make little handles. I’m kind of pleased with my little bag I came up with. I see how I could do the joins a little bit better on the next one but overall it’s good!

 
6 Comments

Posted by on January 19, 2013 in Crochet, Designs

 

Tags: , , , ,

6 responses to “Little Blue Treasure Bag

  1. Knitting Nedjmi

    January 19, 2013 at 8:46 am

    Cute. I love bags so I love making them!

    Like

     
    • craftlyn

      January 19, 2013 at 6:59 pm

      I had no idea I like making bags so much until just recently. I guess now I should learn to line them so they might be a bit more useful. But for now I like them as they are.

      Like

       
      • Knitting Nedjmi

        January 20, 2013 at 11:56 am

        Funny you should mention that. I bought a machine this past summer to make linings because professionals want so much. Did I mention that I can’t sew? Have made a few small ones so far

        Like

         
        • craftlyn

          January 20, 2013 at 2:33 pm

          Ha!! I can actually sew but I have a strange, unreasonable fear of modern sewing machines! :O So if I do any sewing it’s by hand. Or if I go use my mom’s antique treadle machine.

          Like

           
          • Knitting Nedjmi

            January 20, 2013 at 10:18 pm

            hand sewing requires precision that I don’t possess yet

            Like

             
            • craftlyn

              January 20, 2013 at 10:29 pm

              Truth be told, me not so much either. So I only do it when absolutely necessary. 😀

              Like

               

Let me know what you think!

 
