RSS

BOOK: Carry Along Crochet

25 Feb

Carry Along CrochetOk. I’m going to admit it. I have a certain fondess for 60s and 70s era chrochet. Maybe it’s because that’s when I grew up. Or maybe it just reminds me of my great aunt who crocheted even more than I do! I inherited her stash of yarn when she passed on and it was an amazing array of acrylics in oranges and yellows and bright greens.

I’ve been lucky in finding vintage crochet books and magazines on Listia and my latest find is an out of print gem called “The Woman’s Day book of Granny Squares and Other Carry-Along Crochet”. A big name for a great little book. The first pattern that just brought a smile to my face was the “Girl’s Headhugger”. Does anyone remember these as a kid? It was basically just an oval shaped piece with two ties that tied under your chin and clamped that fabric right down over your head depending on how tightly your mom decided to cinch it up. But nostalgic clothing aside the book also contains plenty of things that look right in style. There’s a “Paripatetic Pouch Bag” that looks useful. (Yeah, I admit I had to look up how paripatetic related to a bag). There’s also another really nice tote worked with rug yarn. Midi skirts, berets, vests, ties–all the sixties and seventies fashions that you could want!

All kidding aside, there are some nice patterns that I will probably attempt in the near future–another jacket and a cute pullover. And yes, a poncho!!!

If you’re fond of vintage crochet and you run across this book, it’s worth picking up. My copy happens to have been a discarded library copy, so you might find it there, too.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 25, 2013 in Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “BOOK: Carry Along Crochet

  1. Nice piece of work

    February 25, 2013 at 1:49 am

    love ponchos, and please post a pic of the pouch bag – i can’t imagine what it might look like 🙂

    Like

     
    • craftlyn

      February 25, 2013 at 2:11 am

      I will do that! I think I might make it. It’s basically just 5 HUGE grannies put together.

      Like

       

Let me know what you think!

 
