RSS

Pondering How To Use Edgings

07 Mar

Edging Experiment

I made a sample of an edging from the “50 More Borders” book and someone suggested that I could put it around my neck. Which got me to thinking about making bits of jewelry from edgings. I experimented with some crocheted fastenings, one of which you see here. I did a puff stitch, then folded it down and tacked it with a slip stitch. Then I wove the end in and out around the ball it created. It’s ok. It might be nicer in a different kind of yarn. It fastens and holds pretty well. Its too big as it is for a cuff. It’s more of an anklet size. I will revisit this in the near future.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on March 7, 2013 in Crochet, Scraps

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “Pondering How To Use Edgings

  1. Nice piece of work

    March 7, 2013 at 1:08 am

    It’s a great idea, I’ve done it myself – although my edgings have ended up as neck pieces or necklets or chokers! Guess you can call them anything you like. I also saw a great idea on the net the other day (didn’t bookmark the post, unfortunately) where she uses a piece of knitting and chain attached on either side, looked stunning 🙂

    Like

     
    • craftlyn

      March 7, 2013 at 1:23 am

      I’ve seen some wide crocheted wrist bands/wristlets (all bracelets to me) that looked kind of neat. I think I’ll like them better with buttons though. Must get some. I’ve also seen chokers using silk ribbons as ties/fasteners. I guess that would solve the sizing problem if you were making it to sell or something.

      Like

       
  2. Bekka Poo

    March 7, 2013 at 8:30 am

    Headbands can also be made from edgings. Maybe that’s something you could test out.

    Like

     
    • craftlyn

      March 7, 2013 at 1:24 pm

      Brilliant! And so obvious. Yet it had never occurred to me! You wouldn’t even have to worry about a fastener for those. Thanks for the suggestion! I’m going to try one!

      Like

       

Let me know what you think!

 
