RSS

Round and Round

10 Mar

Granny Coat Front Trim

I got the front edging of the jacket finished. I decided to go with the red for the last 7 rounds. I like the way it turned out, though next to the black the Red Heart Love in Berry Red looks more like copper. But that’s ok. It took nearly a whole skein of it, so I’m glad it did it. now I have 2.5 skeins of black left to finish the sides. That should do it. I plan to put a final round of SC in black around the berry once it’s all finished.

It came to me that this would also make an interesting cape if one wore capes. Just leave off the sleeves and sew up the sides so as to leave armholes.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on March 10, 2013 in Crochet

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “Round and Round

  1. cinomadeau

    March 10, 2013 at 7:46 am

    I have just started my own jacket and seems like i have forever to go! How long did it take for you to get this far?
    Looks awesome.

    Like

     
    • craftlyn

      March 10, 2013 at 3:46 pm

      Thanks! I started on February 3. I would have been farther but I didn’t weave in my ends on the squares as I went and I had a bit of time where I worked half heartedly at doing that task on all the squares. So I’ve been on it a little over a month at this point.

      Like

       
      • cinomadeau

        March 10, 2013 at 4:40 pm

        In just under a month you must be happy with that! I must admit I’m not looking forward to piecing it all together. Did you work from a pattern or just free formed it? I’ve drawn up a map and now I’m just making all my squares. All 50 of them 😐

        Like

         
        • craftlyn

          March 10, 2013 at 5:00 pm

          I worked with a pattern: Scrap Granny Hooded Jacket by Maggie Weldon. If this turns out ok I plan to make some other tops/jackets without a pattern. I have a book that shows ways to construct different shapes of garments using squares. We’ll see how that works out. 😀 Good luck on your project. 50 squares is a lot!

          Like

           

Let me know what you think!

 
