RSS

Incognito

16 Mar

Granny Coat HoodWell, the jacket is for all intents and purposes finished. I need to put a round of edging on the bottom and weave some ends. This is a coat. It’s heavy and warm. The hood and the sleeves turned out not like I’d planned. I failed to take into account that adding rounds to make it bigger would also make the arms longer. So as you can see, the sleeves are a full square too long. And the hood… yeah, you can see the issue there! I’m not looking down in the picture. I’m looking straight ahead!

So, all in all I’m very pleased with the result. It fits me nicely. It was simple to make. And fun! I actually plan on making this again in the near future. I will use a lighter yarn. I will also use only two squares for the arms. I can always add rounds if they come up short. For the hood, I’m thinking to try a reduction on the rounds for the front edging. Maybe doing SC instead of DC around the hood and then going back to DC for the rest. Or, if I’m making a lighter weight jacket, I might leave the hood off all together. If I just continued the edging around the neck I think it would end up with a standup kind of collar which would be nice, too.

It feels great to have completed my first garment! I feel confident in launching into another one!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on March 16, 2013 in Crochet

 

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “Incognito

  1. Nice piece of work

    March 16, 2013 at 1:37 am

    Apart from the fact that you finished this so quickly, it’s incredible! I would WEAR THIS MYSELF all through the coming winter. 🙂 (Now you can have a little crochet rest!)

    Like

     
    • craftlyn

      March 16, 2013 at 1:44 am

      You know, I was afraid the whole time I was making it that it would turn out to be something I’d not like to wear. But I do like it! I’m going to try to get a better picture of the whole jacket next week–perhaps I need to invest in a full length mirror.

      Crochet rest? There is no rest from the crochet. The hook is a strict task master…

      Like

       
  2. Kathryn Rubidoux

    March 16, 2013 at 1:54 pm

    That hood is hilarious, can you roll it back or cuff it? It keeps your face warm at least. 😀

    Like

     
    • craftlyn

      March 16, 2013 at 2:26 pm

      😀 Yeah, if I wanted to turn to a life of crime I could wear it as a mask! I find that turning the red edge back makes it work out all right. And even if I don’t put the hood over my head, it’s big enough to come up around my ears and keep them warm anyway! I’m getting a lot of giggles out of the hood picture everywhere!

      Like

       

Let me know what you think!

 
