RSS

Another Adventure in Clothing

18 Mar

Starry Night squares 1I was gifted the pattern for Linda Permann’s Starry Night Cardigan and have begun work on it. Already I’ve gone rogue. The pattern calls for the 88 little motifs to be joined as you go. I’m just not gonna. There are two reasons I shun join as you go. First, I like portable projects so I can make motifs anywhere I happen to be waiting around for something. Second, and sadly, I can’t keep my mind on it. I already have to write down everything I plan to accomplish anyway so I won’t forget. I’d constantly be writing to keep up with where I should join next. By not using the JAYG method the bodice will be a bit less lacy but that doesn’t bother me.

The sleeves of the pattern are pretty short, so I plan to lengthen both the sleeves and the skirt. Good instructions are given for doing both things.

I’m using Red Heart Soft yarn in a cranberry color. I’m repurposing the yarn that was purchased for making the 2012 that never happened. It’s nice and soft and has a nice sheen to it. I can’t wait to see it made!

 
7 Comments

Posted by on March 18, 2013 in 2013 Crochet Squares, Garments

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

7 responses to “Another Adventure in Clothing

  1. Nice piece of work

    March 18, 2013 at 1:24 am

    Lovely pattern for the squares, and lovely colour, too. (You just threw yourself right in, didn’t you!?) 🙂

    Like

     
    • craftlyn

      March 18, 2013 at 1:40 am

      Yeah, this making garments with square motifs has really intrigued me. The only down side is how long it takes to have a finished garment as opposed to making something smaller…

      Like

       
  2. little poppits

    March 18, 2013 at 3:46 am

    Loving that colour. X

    Like

     
    • craftlyn

      March 18, 2013 at 3:51 am

      Me too! My picture doesn’t really do it justice. It has a lovely sheen to it as well.

      Like

       
  3. Elizabeth

    March 18, 2013 at 2:36 pm

    I’ve been looking at the Starry Night pattern, so I’m very interested in watching your progress and seeing how this turns out. I’ve made loads of blankets, a few hats and scarves, but never a cardigan. it makes me nervous! Thanks for sharing your adventures.

    Like

     
    • craftlyn

      March 18, 2013 at 3:05 pm

      Thanks for looking! The Starry Night Pattern doesn’t seem too complicated. You basically make a number of squares depending on what size you want. Then the sleeves and the skirt are done separately. It looks fairly simple. We’ll see how it goes! 😀

      Like

       

Let me know what you think!

 
