RSS

So Simple it’s Brilliant

10 Jul

Swatch WheelOne of the people in the 2013 BAMCAL brought this idea to our attention. Carmen Rosemann came up with the idea of making a color wheel of little squares so that she could look at her stash in a more efficient way when choosing colors.

Since I’m sort of a reach in and pull out a skien and start crocheting kinda gal, a whole different aspect of this came to mind. I tend to use the same kind of yarn most of the time. Red Heart Super Saver. I like the colors. I like working with it. Since I don’t drive, if I order yarn, I must order it online. Sometimes I forget what a color actually looks like. And despite having a nicely calibrated screen, it doesn’t mean the online store has accurately colored pictures, and looking at a picture isn’t the same as seeing it made up in a little square.

Further, I do occasionally venture out and use some other yarns when I can get them (usually as a gift). I think having a little square made would be nice to remind me what it feels like and looks like next to my other yarns.

So yeah, I’m going to make little squares! I’m going to put them in a book like a carpet sample book. I just happen to have one of those big zipper notebooks made for keeping scrapbooking things in. I was going to give it away but I think it will hold my swatches quite nicely!

Little projects like this appeal to me and I don’t know why. Even as a kid I was fascinated with sticking things onto a page and labeling them. I could spend hours doing this and be happy as a clam. This project will satisfy my need for some little simple crochet moments and for sticking things onto paper. How can I go wrong?

 
5 Comments

Posted by on July 10, 2013 in Crochet

 

Tags: , ,

5 responses to “So Simple it’s Brilliant

  1. Kathryn Rubidoux

    July 10, 2013 at 12:34 am

    I love it! What a stupendously awesome idea! I think I will start right now….

    Like

     
    • craftlyn

      July 10, 2013 at 12:45 am

      This is one of those ideas that inspires immediate action!

      Like

       
  2. Hannah Ackroyd

    July 10, 2013 at 4:17 am

    Oh my goodness…what a brilliant idea! As I live at home still, all of my belongings are limited to one room so my stash is hidden away in a cupboard and I forget what I have…this would be great to keep in my project bag so I could pull it out and assess my stash whenever a new project came to mind!

    Like

     
  3. Tinochka

    July 10, 2013 at 1:20 pm

    Ok, love this idea! It’s one of those , duh, why didn’t I think of that type of ideas. Love, love, love it. Now I know what I can do during this heat wave.

    Like

     

Let me know what you think!

 
