RSS

Magic Spike Mandala Square

02 Aug

Magic Spike SquareToday’s Square: Magic Spike Mandala Square
Size: 11 inch
Pattern By: Tamara Kelly
Hook: H
Yarn: RHSS amethyst, lavender; mystery yarn spring & olive green.
Pattern from: Ravelry

Notes: I like the look of this square for the most part, but I don’t think it’s very practical. Those LOOOONG spike stitches just beg to be snagged on something. I’m not entirely happy with it. I made my spike stitches too tight and it has a wave to it. The pattern played with my mind, too. She counted chains in stitch counts which I’ve never actually encountered in a pattern before. So I kept ripping it out because I couldn’t get the stitch count right. Then I realized what she was doing and it went much more smoothly. This is the August Filler Square for the 2013BAMCAL on Ravelry.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 2, 2013 in 2013 Crochet Squares

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Magic Spike Mandala Square

  1. Nice piece of work

    August 2, 2013 at 11:08 am

    very very pretty, but I don’t t hink I’m quite up to one or more of those!

    Like

     
    • craftlyn

      August 2, 2013 at 11:21 am

      It was a crochet workout! I felt like I had done some kind of marathon when I finished. I probably wouldn’t have chosen to do this square on my own but I do the round by round photo tutorials for the group on the filler squares. It took me a good six hours to do it. 😮

      Like

       

Let me know what you think!

 
