RSS

Unfaithful

16 Aug

Crochet HooksI’m feeling a bit unfaithful. In another awesome random act of kindness, I was given a Clover Amour hook to try. It’s the one on the left in the picture. On the right you see my long-time hook. It’s a Susan Bates style that I picked up in a box lot on Ebay a few years ago. I fully credit this hook with getting me back into crochet in a big way. It’s like a Bates Quicksliver–very slick with a gray coating. I’ve crocheted so much with it that the gray is starting to wear down to the silver underneath. I modified it with grip tape to keep my hand from cramping, and because in a marathon crochet stint I made a bruise on the side of my finger!

I am a roller when it comes to crochet. I tend to roll the hook back and forth between my fingers as I work, which means most ergonomic hooks don’t work for me because of the shape. But the Clover Amour is a dream! The grip is very comfortable. It’s flat on one side and has a corresponding rounded part on the other. It’s almost as if it had been pushed on one side and it bulged out on the other. It works. It’s comfortable! I used it all day yesterday and today while my faithful gray hook languished on my table, reproaching me.

The only downside to the Amour is that it’s got a shallower throat than my usual hook, and an more rounded hook. It’s about halfway between a Boye style and a Bates style. I think I might even be able to use smaller hooks with this brand, if the throat thing doesn’t start tripping me up. I think more experimentation is in order.

Meanwhile, my trusty gray hook sends out “trip her up!” vibes while I’m using the Amour.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 16, 2013 in Scraps

 

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “Unfaithful

  1. Nice piece of work

    August 16, 2013 at 12:55 am

    It’s official – you’re losing it.
    πŸ™‚

    Like

     
    • craftlyn

      August 16, 2013 at 12:57 am

      Either that or my crochet hook really is haunting me…

      Like

       
  2. Kathryn Rubidoux

    August 16, 2013 at 12:50 pm

    Tell your old hook it is merely receiving a much needed vacation and tell it it can pick the next project it does. πŸ˜€

    Like

     
    • craftlyn

      August 16, 2013 at 3:35 pm

      Yes!! Love the vacation idea. Not sure about the picking the next project. It could be longing to make some sort of single piece giganto of a project. :O

      Like

       

Let me know what you think!

 
