RSS

Swedish Meatballs

19 Sep

Swedish Meatballs

I’m still on a crochet vacation so here are the Swedish Meatballs. This is the second time I’ve made them and they’re very tasty albeit pretty salty due to using canned soups. I’d recommend using reduced sodium soup, but I’m not sure the flavors you need for this come in reduced sodium.

This recipe is in NO WAY healthy. So if you’re into the whole health thing avert your eyes right now. But sometimes you just have to have a big ol’ canned soup laden dish. I think it’s some kind of law of the south, really. I made one concession to health–I used reduced fat turkey meatballs.

I’ve shown the recipe as I made it the first time. They are slightly dry with that configuration. If you’re serving them as appetizers as many people do, it’s perfect. Or as a side with noodles. The batch I made today I doubled all the ingredients except the meatballs. I served them over steamed potatoes (shown in the picture).

The original recipe called for a can of mushrooms but I don’t like the texture of the things. I’m thinking if you do the doubling thing, you could substitute a can of cream of mushroom soup for one of the onion soups!

RECIPE:

1 bag of Frozen Meatballs (I used Kroger Turkey meatballs)
1 can of French Onion Soup
1 can of Cream of Celery Soup
8 ounces of sour cream
1 teaspoon of minced garlic

Place meatballs in the crockpot. Mix all the other ingredients together and pour over meatballs. I like to stir them up a little. Cover and cook on high 4 hours.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 19, 2013 in Food

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Swedish Meatballs

  1. g120luvs2crochet

    September 21, 2013 at 3:22 pm

    They look SO good! Maybe I’ll make some to carry for lunches at work when the weather is cooler.

    Like

     
    • craftlyn

      September 22, 2013 at 4:56 pm

      Be careful heating these up in plastic containers! Something about this soup combo gets extra hot for some reason. I melted a hole in THREE containers with them! I couldn’t figure out why all my containers were springing leaks and it turns out it was heating up the swedish meatballs! 😮 Don’t heat in Ziplock bowls or similar. I started using glass or a bowl that’s specifically designed for the microwave like from Nordic Ware.

      Like

       

Let me know what you think!

 
