RSS

At the Grocery

03 Oct

Believe it or not, I’m a naturally reticent person. I’m perfectly happy doing things on my own. My dad is just like this. My mom, on the other hand, will talk to anyone about anything and is perplexed by the notion that strangers might NOT be interested in knowing what she did over the weekend. 😀 She often says to me “don’t you just want to get out and talk to people!?” I tell her people do not need, or WANT, to know my life story upon first meeting.

Today I finished my grocery shopping early as I do because I’m not a browser. I’m sitting on a bench minding my own business. As an aside, my disability requires me to keep my legs wrapped from toe to hip in compression bandages over which I pull stockinettes (like they use under casts). I see a lady making a beeline for the bench I’m sitting on and I think she just plans to sit down. Sit she does–nearly knocking my mother down who had just wandered up and was about to sit down. The lady holds her leg up in the air, pulls up her trouser leg, and says “I see you have your legs wrapped! I have mine, too!! What’s wrong with you? I had a blood clot and I was in the hospital for—” and it went on for a good while. I did not know this woman from adam. I told her that mine wasn’t a blood clot. This launches her on a whole other tangent about her stay in the hospital and how she hated the wraps, etc. I told her I hoped she got better soon. That seemed to satisfy her and she went on her way to her car and drove away.

This happens to me a lot. Not just because of the wraps. People just tend to wander up and talk to me for no apparent reason. My dad says it’s like a cat. They know which person is allergic to them and that’s who they choose to sit on. My best friend puts it another way: “you, my friend, are a loon magnet.”

Of course sometimes it’s a little humorous. One time at the hospital a lady asked me if I was going to get new legs. I couldn’t laugh because she was entirely serious. I told her no, I thought I would keep the ones I had.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on October 3, 2013 in Random Life

 

Tags: ,

6 responses to “At the Grocery

  1. Nice piece of work

    October 3, 2013 at 1:23 am

    You should be writing a daily column, you’re funnier than Carl Hiaasen. Your dad sounds like a corker, too. 🙂 And on the mom side, I know exactly what you mean, mine is similar. I found drinking helped. (Me, not her).

    Like

     
    • craftlyn

      October 3, 2013 at 2:59 am

      My dad is a corker. They are so different and yet here they are, still married 56 years on! I’m sure once I got old enough to joke around with my dad, she was in a constant state of confusion because of our tendency to pun, which goes right over her head. I never tried drinking. I just turned nomad and moved around the country in my youth!

      Speaking of funny, I should write about some of my trips on the bus to the hospital. There’s some funny stuff. Though at the time I’m pretty sure steam was coming out my ears….

      Like

       
      • Nice piece of work

        October 3, 2013 at 5:20 am

        write it down. Please. You already have an audience!!!

        Like

         
        • craftlyn

          October 3, 2013 at 2:03 pm

          I think I might. Things like that really need to be commemorated. Or something…

          Like

           
  2. g120luvs2crochet

    October 3, 2013 at 10:51 am

    I used to say that my mother I both must have worn a sign around our necks that said “Tell me your life story.” She worked in a department store, and would come home with some interesting stories!

    Like

     
    • craftlyn

      October 3, 2013 at 2:04 pm

      It’s always amazed me what people will tell a perfect stranger. I guess it’s just one of those personality things. :O

      Like

       

Let me know what you think!

 
