RSS

Yarn Angst

10 Oct

I think I have yarn angst. It’s no secret that most of my yarn comes from buying box lots of bits and pieces on Ebay, finding a deal on Listia, or when someone sends me their old yarn they don’t want any more. Most of my yarn is “mystery” yarn and 99 percent of it is acrylic. It’s been so long since I bought a new skien of yarn the thrill of it might kill me.

There are a few full, new skeins of yarn in my stash. They were gifts and they’re oh so pretty! And yet, I can’t bring myself to use them in a project! I pick them up and feel them, marveling at the pretty color. Then I think “No, I need to save this for a really SPECIAL project”.

But what will that special project be? By the time I figure it out, these colors will probably be discontinued. Then there’s the added stress of “will I have enough of this to finish my special project?”. I have two cakes of blue sparkly yarn that I love. I made a scarf and hat with some of it. But the rest sat there waiting to be used. I finally made myself use some of it in a square recently. I liked the way the square turned out. It’s very sparkly. But then I will be sad when my sparkly yarn is gone.

My yarn just keeps stressing me out! Maybe this means I need more of it? I’d like to think so…

Do you have yarn that you can’t seem to bring yourself to use in a project? Or is it all just me.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on October 10, 2013 in Random Life

 

Tags: , ,

8 responses to “Yarn Angst

  1. Nice piece of work

    October 10, 2013 at 1:30 am

    It’s not just you, although I’m more like that with clothes.

    Like

     
    • craftlyn

      October 10, 2013 at 2:49 am

      Clothes I’m kind of the opposite with. I’ll wear a few select outfits all the time, and the angst comes that when they wear out, will I get something similar. Thus, when I find a shirt I like, I will buy several in different colors…

      Like

       
  2. KimberlyCares

    October 10, 2013 at 2:29 am

    Absolutely not! I have a skein of Madeline Tosh and I can’t figure out what to do with it. I suffer from all the same yarn anxiety that you just described too! 😉

    Like

     
    • craftlyn

      October 10, 2013 at 2:49 am

      I’m glad to know I’m not alone!!

      Like

       
  3. Jill Ash

    October 11, 2013 at 3:55 pm

    I use acrylic cos its cheap and the colours are good. I did get some lovely ‘proper’ wool at Yarndale and I’m planning what to make with it for friends/family. I rarely make things for me but I worry about that. I have made stuff for the house recently and a lovely throw for Rich to use in the van when he’s away in the week. He loves it, bless him 😀

    Like

     
    • craftlyn

      October 11, 2013 at 4:11 pm

      I am making one thing for me with yarn I specifically bought for that purpose. But I keep getting sidetracked on it. The yarn is so soft and it’s nice to hold. One of these days I WILL wear my sweater I’m making…

      Like

       
  4. Pamela Martin

    November 3, 2013 at 4:00 pm

    Yes, I do. I look for yarn at yard sales, etc. I am going to check out the place you mentioned …List something or other. I did buy some new yarn this month and I love to just touch and look at it. I want to make something special with it too. 🙂 Love your devotions on Ravelry

    Like

     
    • craftlyn

      November 3, 2013 at 4:43 pm

      Sometimes you can pick up a good bargain on Listia.com. I just got a big box of yarn leftovers. Since I usually make small things it works out pretty good. It takes a bit to gather some points to get things, but I find listing some yarn that I don’t like will get me enough points to get some yarn that I do like! It’s a win win!

      Like

       

Let me know what you think!

 
