RSS

Retro Poncho!!

15 Oct

Poncho 1

I’ve felt the need to make myself a poncho for some time. So I have started on it. I have two patterns that I’m looking at. The construction is the same but one calls for 80 four-inch squares and the other calls for 42 squares but doesn’t say what size the squares actually are (gotta love those vintage patterns!). My squares are 4.75 inches so I guess I’ll sort of take stock after I have 42 and see if it will be big/long enough at that point.

The square I’m using is a modified Lacy Cross from the 200 Crochet Blocks book by Jan Eaton. I did four rounds of the pattern and then finished off with a round of HDC in black. I have several skeins of variegated in complementary colors that I’m going to use up. This is the project where I’m using my “good” yarn that I was saving for just the right project! These squares are Loops & Threads Impeccable in Ginseng Ombre. I also have some RHSS Holly & Ivy multi, and some mystery yarn in tweedy green and tweedy red. If I run out of those I have some solid cranberry that I can add in if necessary.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 15, 2013 in Garments

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Retro Poncho!!

  1. Nice piece of work

    October 15, 2013 at 1:31 am

    Nice nice. I really like the colours of the Ginseng Ombre, although it certainly sounds more like something i’d order at the Thai Cafe. šŸ™‚

    Like

     
    • craftlyn

      October 15, 2013 at 1:41 am

      Heh!!! I was thinking it sounded like an herbal supplement…

      Like

       

Let me know what you think!

 
