RSS

1950s Retro Cooking

16 Dec

Meatball Potato Soup

I made another soup concoction in my crock pot this weekend. It turned out pretty tasty. I laughed because most everything I added was canned. It makes me chuckle because my mom has all these cookbooks from the 50s and it’s all: a can of this and a can of that and some of the other. Probably not the healthiest thing you could eat but it sort of falls in that “comfort food” category I think. And it smells GREAT!

My little sweet peppers didn’t add as much color to the soup as I thought they would. I needed to add more.

Meatball Tater Soup

2 cans Cream of Chicken soup
1 can Cream of Mushroom Soup
1 soup can of water
1 clove garlic, minced
1 medium onion chopped
3 baby bell peppers chopped (or one regular one)
2 cans whole new potatoes (I cut them up)
1 bag of frozen turkey meatballs (or any variety)

Stir up the first six ingredients in the crock pot until well mixed. Add the meatballs and potatoes and stir up. Cover and cook on high 4 hours.

If you like your potatoes a little firmer and you’re using canned ones, wait to add them about halfway through the cooking time. Or use fresh potatoes.

Use low sodium soup if possible because this is pretty salty otherwise. If you want a thicker soup, leave out the water, or add an extra can of either chicken or mushroom. Or add a can of Cream of Celery for another bit of flavor.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 16, 2013 in Food

 

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “1950s Retro Cooking

  1. Nice piece of work

    December 16, 2013 at 12:38 pm

    all i can say is – if that crockpot of soup was anywhere near me right now, I’d just jump right in. (It’s 7.40pm here, plus I haven’t been to the supermarket for days….)

    Like

     
    • craftlyn

      December 16, 2013 at 12:44 pm

      It’s even better the next day. I’m having some now!!

      Like

       
      • Nice piece of work

        December 16, 2013 at 11:18 pm

        Ja, a lot of food’s like that… enjoy. I managed to rustle up a risotto last night so didn’t go to bed too hungry 🙂

        Like

         
  2. morganhausen

    December 16, 2013 at 7:42 pm

    So hungry now.

    Like

     

Let me know what you think!

 
