RSS

Crochet is Magic

19 Dec

Some of you may remember the coat of many colors that I made last year. It’s cold again and so the coat is making appearances again. Today was a grocery trip and before I could get in the door this lady starts yelling at me from far away. “Hey!! Hey!!!! Where did you get that coat?” I tell her I made it. She says “Oh, could I pay you to make one for my daughter FOR CHRISTMAS?” (emphasis mine). I said, “THIS Christmas? Sorry, no. It takes some time to make one of these.” She seemed baffled by this. After all there were still 8 days until Christmas!

The coat drew a couple more rather sane compliments before I took it off and placed it in a shopping cart. My mom wandered off with the cart while I waited in the dining area of the store. When she comes back she relates that she also had a run in with someone admiring the coat. She actually came to the cart and lifted it out to look at it. :O She asked my mom…wait for it… if I would be able to make her one for a Christmas gift. My mother wisely said no, that would be impossible.

Apparently people think crochet just appears or something. And sadly I’m thinking they wouldn’t have wanted to pay the cost of materials to make it, much less for time. But I’m kind of thinking I might make another one and put it in my Etsy shop and see what happens. If nothing ever comes of it, I can eventually donate it!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 19, 2013 in Garments, Random Life

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “Crochet is Magic

  1. Nice piece of work

    December 19, 2013 at 12:22 am

    a hat or a pair of slippers is one thing, but a COAT! clearly they have no idea, or else thought maybe you’d imported it from China!

    Like

     
    • craftlyn

      December 19, 2013 at 12:30 am

      Yeah I would have jumped on hats and scarves to make before Christmas. Who knows what goes through people’s minds. Perhaps the looming holiday was making them panic…

      Like

       
  2. whiteravenfire

    December 19, 2013 at 5:10 pm

    It must be nice to know that so many people admired your work. Even if they didn’t appreciate how long some pieces can take to make. 🙂
    http://guywhocrochets.wordpress.com/

    Like

     
    • craftlyn

      December 19, 2013 at 5:25 pm

      You’re absolutely right. I’m always a bit astonished to get comments on it because it is so brightly multicolored. But I like it and it’s fun when other people like it, too.

      Like

       

Let me know what you think!

 
