RSS

Crochet as Padding

30 Dec

Sometimes the universe likes to give you a little warning from time to time. My physical therapist is always reminding me that I shouldn’t sit in a chair for more than half an hour at a time. Most of the time I observe that. But… sometimes I think “Oh a little more time won’t be that bad.” That’s when the universe reminds you.

I was sitting in my ancient desk chair, aimlessly wandering the internet as one does. I reached over to pick up something just out of my reach when there was a loud pop, a crack, and suddenly I was on a roller coaster in my living room. One of the back feet of the chair had failed sending me backward and to the side. Luckily I happened to have some bags of yarn and crochet squares sitting in just that area as I worked on them. Now I’m lying backward in a desk chair amid an explosion of crochet and yarn.

Now with my disability, getting up off the floor isn’t an easy task. And the task was further hampered by the rediculousness of my predicament which caused me to have a laughing fit. Presently I regained my composure and began to plot my return to upright. My computer table is fairly close to the wall, so now I’m sort of under the table still in the chair. I managed to extract myself from the chair and scoot on my butt out from under the table. Now to get up.

I have a large space bag filled with crochet squares that I haven’t gotten parceled out to charities yet. I used this as sort of a prop and then managed to get halfway up using a (ancient) wooden kitchen chair that I have in the corner. Halfway up the chair begins to make a cracking sound. I told the chair that if it dared break right now it would be kindling in a minute. It wisely stayed together.

Finally I’m back up. My living room now looked like an altercation had taken place with a broken chair, crochet all over the place and a couple little tables knocked over from flailing about on my way to the middle of the room on my butt.

So yeah, next time I feel the need to spend an extra few minutes looking at clumsy penguins I need to rethink that…and maybe get some new chairs that haven’t been around since the 80s.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on December 30, 2013 in Random Life

 

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “Crochet as Padding

  1. Nice piece of work

    December 30, 2013 at 1:24 am

    You expected us to laugh, right? I can barely type straight…..!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Like

     
    • craftlyn

      December 30, 2013 at 1:30 am

      Yes, I did! I laughed! If I’d been video taped I think I would have put it to slow motion and put some kind of classical skating music in the background.

      Like

       

Let me know what you think!

 
