RSS

You Have Permission to Slap Me

09 Jan

Relatively speaking, I haven’t been crocheting all that long. I picked it up in the 80s but the bulk of my work consisted of scarves, hats and afghans made entirely of SC and DC. Is there any wonder that I sort of quit doing it for years? I picked it back up in 2010 when I became disabled in order to have something to do while lying around. Now I can’t stop doing it.

If the time ever comes when I get… well… SMUG about crochet I want any (or all of you) to slap me. Hard! Like Cher in “Moonstruck”. And you must also shout “snap out of it!!” just like she did to Nicholas Cage.

Now don’t get me wrong. If you do a craft I think you should share your work and brag about it! Lord knows I do–this whole blog is one big brag book if you get right down to it. I love that. I love seeing what other people make. I think sharing is inspiring and I’ve been spurred on to learn new things by seeing the wonderful things people make.

Smug comes in when you suddenly begin thinking that because you’ve done something for 30 or 40 years that you are the be all end all of knowledge about it. You can usually tell when someone’s about to play that card. They always start out with “In my 40 years of crochet–.” You know it’s not going to end well.

Just because a technique you’ve done for 40 years works for you, doesn’t mean it’s going to work for everyone. And some techniques just aren’t everyone’s cup of tea. It doesn’t mean that the person is somehow crochet deficient. It just means they have a different way of doing things. If you’re going to play the “Well it’s always worked in my 40 years of crochet” card, at least follow up with “Maybe you could try–“.

Learning new things is sometimes a stressful time. If you have 40 years of experience behind you, I think it’s nice if you use that experience to impart knowledge rather than “It works for me.” That never works for anybody.

Though I’ve not been seriously crocheting that long, I try to help everyone as much as I can. If I don’t know how to help them personally I try to find a place where they can find the information. It works for me…

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 9, 2014 in Random Life

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “You Have Permission to Slap Me

  1. E.C.

    January 9, 2014 at 12:29 am

    I totally agree, Well said words to live by. 🙂

    Like

     
  2. Nice piece of work

    January 9, 2014 at 1:03 am

    I’m wondering what prompted this….:-)

    Like

     
    • craftlyn

      January 9, 2014 at 1:07 am

      It’s kind of been long simmering but you know there’s always that ONE comment that puts you over the edge….

      Like

       

Let me know what you think!

 
