RSS

Flattered and Torn

16 Jan

Geometrica

I’ve designed a few patterns for squares over time, mainly just to see if I could write a pattern that people could follow! I always give them away free because I really don’t think they’re so innovative and different that I could really feel good about taking people’s money for them.

The last pattern I designed was Geometrica (shown here). That one was designed by request of Melinda Miller, a pattern designer that I admire. So I was pretty chuffed to have been asked to design a pattern for her showcase. I still offer that one for free, even though the terms were that it could be changed to a paid pattern once the showcase was over.

Personally, I think the pattern ended up being a bit more fiddly and complex than I intended. I was thinking to do a whole series of squares modeled after quilting, where you join a series of motifs then go around the outside and turn them into a square. I may still ponder that idea in the future.

Anyway, the other day a yarn store owner wanted to offer the Geometrica pattern for sale in her store. I guess Ravelry has a way you can set that up, though I’ve never explored it since my patterns have always been free. She needed it right away for an event and I ended up declining. I was torn about selling a pattern that I’ve been giving away. But it was flattering that a store wanted to include my pattern in an event they were having!

So, have I been…er…SELLING myself short by not selling my patterns instead of giving them away? If you were to buy an individual pattern for a crocheted square, would you expect the pattern to be over the top and totally unique? What would you expect from a square pattern that you paid money for? If you buy such patterns do you only buy from established or “name” pattern designers?

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 16, 2014 in Designs

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “Flattered and Torn

  1. Nice piece of work

    January 16, 2014 at 12:12 am

    Yes. No. A clear pattern that has been tested properly. No.

    Like

     
  2. Beate

    January 16, 2014 at 3:24 am

    All the work you do, the yarn you invest, the practice you have there SHOULD be a monetary compensation. Your picture is even awesome. There is no such thing as a “NAME” pattern designer. Our ancestors were the best designers. There are only so many crochet stitches possible and as you develop a pattern you deserve compensation.

    Like

     
  3. Jenn

    January 16, 2014 at 5:40 pm

    With all the free patterns available on Ravelry, I expect to pay only for for a really unique pattern & maybe a pattern I can use more than once. I admit to being cheap. I see lots of patterns for sale that I CONSIDER overpriced or too similar to a free pattern to pay for.
    I agree that it us flattering for you to be honored in this way. Could you perhaps do something it add value to your free pattern to justify a cost? I don’t know. I love free patterns. Yours are well done.

    Like

     
    • craftlyn

      January 16, 2014 at 6:54 pm

      My thoughts are a lot like yours. There are so many great free patterns there, I’m not usually inclined to pay for one. Though I have bought a couple. When I do buy patterns I usually buy them as a gift for someone else to be honest! I’ve thought about the “added value” thing before. Something like buy this one and get an unpublished one that goes along with it. Or personal help if you get stuck with the pattern. I don’t know what a good “extra” would be, really.

      Like

       

Let me know what you think!

 
