RSS

Choosing Wisely

05 Feb

Vanna YarnI got a little bit of Christmas money which I was saving for just the right thing. In my world, “Just the right thing” is either chocolate, pizza, or yarn. This time yarn won out. One of my Ravelry friends had some Vanna’s Choice left over from a project and offered me this loveliness for $2.50 per skein. I love Vanna’s. It’s soft on the hands and it makes nice squares. But I generally cannot justify buying it since it’s regularly $3.89 to $4.25 for a 3.5 ounce skein. My budget is more like $3.00 for 8 to 16 ounce bundles. Yeah, I know some people pay 30 bucks for 2 ounces of something but I guess I’m all about quantity. When I’m in crochet mode I want to crochet a LOT and that takes a LOT of yarn. I fear if I ever won the lottery I’d have to first buy a small house just to house the yarns I would buy. Of course now this yarn acquisition moves into the “find just the right project” pile…

 
3 Comments

Posted by on February 5, 2014 in Random Life

 

Tags: ,

3 responses to “Choosing Wisely

  1. Nice piece of work

    February 5, 2014 at 10:51 pm

    I can honestly say I’ve never wanted to see anyone’s piles before, but that just changed. How many piles do you have? How’s that poncho pile coming along?

    Like

     
    • craftlyn

      February 5, 2014 at 11:02 pm

      The poncho pile of yarn is kinda staying the same. It’d be better if I had a pile of poncho squares, wouldn’t it? I may get a goodly amount of work done on it Friday. Or not. 😀

      Like

       
  2. The Snail of Happiness

    February 9, 2014 at 1:34 pm

    Chocolate, pizza and yarn… you are a woman after my own heart!

    Like

     

Let me know what you think!

 
