RSS

I May Actually Finish This Thing!

14 Feb

Poncho with inserts

I got the front and back of the poncho joined. Now all it needs is joining at the shoulders. I was contemplating putting an extra few rows in there but I changed my mind on that. I’m just going to make up the length with rounds around the edges. I also thought about making some little 4 inch squares and adding them around the edges!! I’d almost rather do that than sit and work around and around the hem several times. I’m mostly out of the variegated that I used for the main body. I’ll have to throw in another color from my stash. It might look wacky but them’s the breaks.

As I surmised, the neckline is really large. I made the two half grannies shown and plan on installing them right in the V of the join, then going around with the neckline border. It might save some time and yarn.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on February 14, 2014 in Garments

 

Tags: , ,

9 responses to “I May Actually Finish This Thing!

  1. Nice piece of work

    February 15, 2014 at 3:24 am

    half grannies at the neckline = great idea. Nearly there, last 100metres to go……

    Like

     
    • craftlyn

      February 15, 2014 at 5:36 am

      I got the little half grannies sewn in and they look cute!! I put one of them on backward but I don’t think anybody will notice, really. I did all the blue rounds “backward” on purpose to counteract the skew the squares took on.

      Like

       
      • Nice piece of work

        February 16, 2014 at 1:42 am

        sounds good. what’s left?

        Like

         
        • craftlyn

          February 16, 2014 at 2:05 am

          I just have to put the border around the neck and borders on the bottom to make it longer. I actually wore it this evening so it’s in a wearable state even without the finishing.

          Like

           
  2. Kathryn Rubidoux

    February 15, 2014 at 1:43 pm

    You’ve inspired me to make a poncho from the cotton Jill sent me last year. It won’t be a copy of yours, so no worries. 😉

    Like

     
    • craftlyn

      February 15, 2014 at 1:50 pm

      Yay for making a poncho! I don’t know why I’ve become so poncho obsessed lately. But every time I see one I want to make it! :O

      Like

       
      • Kathryn Rubidoux

        February 15, 2014 at 2:10 pm

        I’m that way with scarves, I have way too many scarves. A poncho will be a nice change.

        Like

         

Let me know what you think!

 
