RSS

Poncho Complete!!

17 Feb

Big Poncho FinishedI finished my poncho! I guess I shouldn’t have finished it all off at once because now my wrist is complaining but I wanted to wear it! I also found that if you give the poncho a quarter turn it makes an interesting shawl with the pointy parts hanging over the arms instead of in the front and back.

The little half grannies on the neckline look nice! The downside is that I had to figure out a new scheme of decreases for the neckline since I went off-pattern. I ended up ripping out the neck several times until I got something I was happy with. It’s still not totally perfect but if I ever make this again I know where the pitfalls are.

I ended up only doing two extra rounds of DC at the bottom and a round of SC to finish it off. I had enough of the variegated to do that so that made me happy. I have enough left that I could also put a round of it at the neckline. I might do that at another time.

Making this poncho has made me rethink my poncho made of little squares. Instead of following the pattern for that one, I think the easiest thing to do would be make six large squares out of the small squares and join them up like this one.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 17, 2014 in Garments

 

Tags: ,

4 responses to “Poncho Complete!!

  1. marketingtcs

    February 17, 2014 at 3:08 pm

    YOU DID IT! It looks fantastic, it really does!!!!! and the sc edging in the variegated just makes it 🙂 You have inspired me….I have started a granny square that was going to be the basis for a long wrap, but now I think I should rather copy the Poncho Queen.

    Like

     
    • craftlyn

      February 17, 2014 at 3:24 pm

      I’m ready to make another one!!!

      Like

       
  2. Granny Squares of Love

    December 28, 2014 at 9:07 am

    How many inches are the 6 granny squares?

    Like

     

Let me know what you think!

 
