RSS

I Know a Clue When I See One

04 Mar

Well, I guess I don’t even have to leave my apartment to experience weird things. Today was just one of those times.

I got up early to wait for a package scheduled for delivery. Our mail usually comes about 4pm but I thought with the snow we got last night they might be on different schedules. About noon I idly tracked it because I’m a compulsive package tracker. To my surprise it said “delivery attempted, no one home, notice left.” Huh. I spend most of my day about 6 feet from my front door. It’s hard to miss someone knocking.

It’s 12 degrees outside so I reluctantly get together to go down to the mailbox to get my notice in order to reschedule.

Now, I’m no expert CSI but I know a thing or two about clues. My dad was a career cop. His brother actually WAS a CSI. When I was a child I could lift a fairly good print off something and even now I watch Forensic Files and play “spot the discrepancy”. But again I digress. The first thing that strikes me (besides the eyeball freezing cold) is that there are no footprints in the snow going from my door to the mailbox. Next I find no notice in my box nor mail of any kind. Since I was already frozen, I walked around the front of the building to the other side’s mailboxes. Still no snowy prints save for funny little bird tracks and an odd circular spot that looked like the poor bird had keeled over for a moment.

My parents also live in this building and they ALWAYS get mail. Sometimes they get so much it won’t fit in the box. Today, no mail. I began to conclude that the mail person had decided to skip our neighborhood and marked all the packages “no one home.”

Fine. I go to the USPS website and fill out a form for redelivery. If you don’t have a form you can fill out your address and what kind of package it was. The thing accepted the redelivery and subsequently sent me two reminders to be home.

Curiosity (or obsession) took hold and I tracked the package again about two hours later. NOW the tracking says that the package could not be delivered as addressed and was being returned to the sender. What? This package is from a firm that I’ve gotten plenty of packages from in the past. Our regular mail people know my name (it’s a bit unusual) and I’ve even gotten packages with no apartment number on them delivered correctly.

So what do the clues tell me? That today was clueless day at the USPS.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on March 4, 2014 in Random Life

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “I Know a Clue When I See One

  1. Nice piece of work

    March 4, 2014 at 12:29 am

    I hope you wore your warm cosy poncho when you went trotting around outside?

    Like

     
  2. craftlyn

    March 4, 2014 at 9:30 am

    Well, my sleuthing seems to have been correct! After sending off an annoyed email to the USPS, the local postmaster calls me this morning at NINE am. I usually go to bed at about 6am so you can imagine my annoyance. Anyway, he tells me that there is no problem with the package, that mail was “curtailed” in certain areas because of the weather. So yeah, why not just put “weather delay” like UPS and FedEx do, one wonders… Still waiting for the package.

    Like

     

Let me know what you think!

 
