RSS

It Rarely Fails

14 Mar

Yes, it was grocery day and travel time again! And you know that always leads to adventure!!

The bus was refreshingly early and I took a leisurely approach to my shopping. Even with that, I was finished shopping about 90 minutes before my bus was to arrive. I bought myself a little snack and sat enjoying it, thinking I might avoid squirrely conversations with random strangers for once. I think you can see where this is going. A lady sits down on the bench beside me and starts talking about the new umbrella she just bought. To be fair, it was a very nice umbrella. Then… she launches into a tale about how she feeds squirrels at her windows and sometimes they come in the house then leave. Ok. I literally had a squirrely conversation!

At this point I decided that was enough of that sort of thing and tried to call the Wheels dispatch to see if I could get an earlier bus. After 10 minutes on hold, I got out the hook and yarn and started yet another poncho. Again I called. Now the number is reverting to someone’s voicemail which is full. That’s odd. More calling. At this point it’s only 20 minutes until bus arrival anyway so I go back to crochet.

In the meantime, the temperature has dropped from 60F to 32F outside. There’s snow blowing around like crazy. The waiting bench is in a doorway. I’m a block of ice. The bus is now 30 minutes late. I try calling some more. Now it’s either a fast busy or the full mailbox. I become elated when I see a bus and scurry (as much as I can scurry) outside, just wanting to be warm. The driver says it’s not my bus and that nothing is working and no one knows where to go. Well that doesn’t sound good.

Finally, 2.5 hours after my scheduled pickup, I see another bus. But now there’s also another person waiting for their bus. We both scurry out. The driver tells us both to get on because no one knows what’s going on.

We get buckled in and the driver turns to us and says “Do you know how to get to your houses because my GPS isn’t working.” Well that doesn’t sound good either. Luckily, my apartment is only a few turns on main roads. I felt bad for the girl on the bus though. I actually know her and she has difficulty speaking sometimes, especially when stressed. I don’t know how she fared telling the driver how to get home because by this time she couldn’t even pronounce the name of her street and had to show the driver her ID to tell him her address–a situation she normally wouldn’t be in because the computers tell the drivers where to go.

Sometimes you just want to tell technology where to go….

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 14, 2014 in Random Life

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “It Rarely Fails

  1. Nice piece of work

    March 14, 2014 at 1:47 am

    Tell me you make this stuff up?!!! 🙂

    Like

     
    • craftlyn

      March 14, 2014 at 1:52 am

      Ha!! Sadly, no. This is my real life….

      Like

       

Let me know what you think!

 
