RSS

Experimental Watch Band

09 Jun

Watch Band

I got a couple of watch faces that have two big rings on the side to slip a band through. I thought it would be cool to crochet a watch band. This one is just quick and sloppy. I crocheted a strip of SC that was four stitches wide. Then I slip stitched the strip together to make a tube. I threaded the tube through the rings and sewed the ends together. It has just enough give to slip over my hand. Of course the down side is that when it gets dirty I’d have to cut it off and make another one. I think I’ll try another experiment and crochet strips right onto the rings and try to make a closure. My issue with wearing watches is always the closure. It digs into my wrist when I type. It only took about 10 minutes to make the continuous band, though. I could make several and just have them ready to put in and sew up! 😀

 
6 Comments

Posted by on June 9, 2014 in Designs

 

Tags: , ,

6 responses to “Experimental Watch Band

  1. Nice piece of work

    June 9, 2014 at 3:06 am

    maybe you could find a work-around for the closures and experiment with a bit of elastic? i think this is a great idea

    Like

     
    • craftlyn

      June 9, 2014 at 3:24 am

      It would have to be a closure since the band has to slip through the rings. Maybe I could do something with velcro. I don’t really like closures on watch bands because they annoy me. This band I made is really comfortable!

      Like

       
      • Nice piece of work

        June 9, 2014 at 3:30 am

        I have a different solution. I don’t wear a watch at all, haven’t for over 15 years now 🙂

        Like

         
        • craftlyn

          June 9, 2014 at 3:36 am

          *snort* Neither have I!!! I just got these cool looking watch pieces and felt the need to put them on! I mainly thought it might useful when I’m out on my bus adventures. That way I could keep track of just how late they really are…

          Like

           
          • Nice piece of work

            June 9, 2014 at 3:41 am

            hahaha

            We have a concept here called “African time”. It means you do what you want when you feel you’d like to. Generally it’s an excuse for tardiness.
            It’s been my goal to fully embrace that in practice – not always possible, of course!!

            Like

             
            • craftlyn

              June 9, 2014 at 4:08 am

              I like this concept!!! Maybe that’s why I always embraced being a freelance worker. No schedules or time clocks. Though I never got over the fear of being late to things. If I have to be somewhere at a certain time, I usually end up getting there at least a half hour early. :/

              Like

               

Let me know what you think!

 
