RSS

Back In MY Day…

22 Jun

my dad circa 1959My mom was settling into her new apartment and found this picture of me and my dad. I think it must be about 1959. And yes, I’m holding a steak knife. It kind of looks like I’m thinking “what good’s a steak knife with no steak, dad?!” This is one of my favorite pictures. It kind of illustrates my and dad’s relationship. He generally thought of me as a little grown up from the very beginning. So why shouldn’t I use a knife when I could barely sit up? :D

Someone commented that today people would be aghast at this photo. What?! How could you let that child hold a knife?! But things were different back then. Our 50s model cars didn’t even have seat belts. My dad would just throw his arm to the side to keep me (or even my mom if she was in the front) from pitching forward if he had to stop quick. But I think being allowed to do grownup things and learning how grownup things were to be used taught to be cautious and it never really occurred to me to use things in a malicious way. The worst I ever got hurt was with my dang tricycle. I was riding it in the middle of the living room, tipped over, and gashed my forehead. It didn’t bother me too much except I had to miss my favorite show because everybody went into a tizzy and insisted on going to the ER. I still have that scar, though.

I think if I had kids I’d probably raise them like I was raised. Somebody would probably report me for letting them have scissors or something… I figure they’d just cut their hair and use it for crafts. Or maybe that was just me…

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 22, 2014 in Random Life

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Back In MY Day…

  1. Nice piece of work

    June 22, 2014 at 12:25 pm

    until i read the text i thought that cute little baby was holding a crochet hook 🙂

    Like

     
  2. Terri Neu

    June 22, 2014 at 8:04 pm

    I love this! I remember the only seat belt was an arm being thrown across the chest. My dad didn’t know what to do with kids, so he treated us as little adults. Thank you for sharing your memory of your dad. I lost my dad 5 years ago last Wednesday. I cherish all of my memories of him.

    Like

     

Let me know what you think!

 
