RSS

I Eventually Get Around to Things…

13 Jul

Multi PillowghanI started this pillowghan on July 27, 2012. All the squares were finished–they just had to be joined which seems to be my sticking point most of the time. Generally a pillowghan consists of 13 squares–12 for the afghan and one to make the pocket to turn it into a pillow. When you’re using the ‘ghan supposedly you can use the pocket to put your feet in.

Of course I decided to get tricky about it all and made 26 squares, thinking I’d like an oblong pillow. I didn’t think it through enough and so it kind of made the pocket not useable as a foot warmer unless you have the ‘ghan placed low on your lap. But it’ll still be useful.

It was a struggle to get all those squares folded and stuffed into the pocket. I double stitched with double strands when attaching the pocket to make sure it wouldn’t come off.

I’m not as happy with it as I would like, but at least I finished it and now I have space on my shelf to put another project!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 13, 2014 in Bags

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “I Eventually Get Around to Things…

  1. teabeaknits

    July 13, 2014 at 8:08 am

    Still not quite sure what a ‘pillowghan’ is but absolutely love the colour scheme – well worth finishing!

    Like

     
    • craftlyn

      July 13, 2014 at 1:36 pm

      A pillowghan is an afghan that folds up into a pillow. You make the afghan then add a pocket at the bottom. Fold the afghan in thirds vertically, then in fourths horizontally and pull the pocket over the folded afghan and you’ve got a pillow. It’s nice for storage–it keeps the thing contained. Good for throwing in the car for emergencies, too.

      Like

       

Let me know what you think!

 
